IOWA NORTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 229 E. PARK AVE. WATERLOO, IOWA

ANNUAL MEETING

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 21, 2023 12:00 Noon

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and Introductions
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Approval of June 15, 2023, Minutes
- 4. Financial Reports:
 - A. INRCOG
 - B. RTC
- 5. Director's Report:
 - A. Grants/Contracts
 - B. Human Resources
 - C. 229 E. Park Avenue
- 6. 2024 INRCOG Officer Elections: Board and Executive Committee
- 7. FY 2025 Membership Dues
- 8. FY 2023 Annual Report and 50-Year Recognition
- 9. INRCOG Employee Recognition-Years of Agency Service
- 10. INRCOG Board Member Recognition-Outgoing Board Member Mayors
- 11. Other Business
- 12. Adjourn

Note: Please notify INRCOG at (319) 235-0311 or <u>inrcog@inrcog.org</u> by Monday, December 18th, if you plan to participate in this meeting.

INRCOG meetings are open to all individuals. Any person requesting reasonable accommodation to participate in this meeting must contact INRCOG at (319) 235-0311 at least two business days in advance of this meeting.

IOWA NORTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 229 E. PARK AVE. WATERLOO, IOWA

MINUTES Council Meeting Thursday, December 21, 2023

The regular meeting of the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments was called to order at 12:10 p.m. by Dewey Hildebrandt, Chair.

Council members present were: Larry Young, Mayor of Shell Rock; Mark Schildroth, Grundy County Board of Supervisors; Greg Barnett, Butler County Board of Supervisors; Lisa Smock, Mayor of Elk Run Heights; Matt Kuhn, Chickasaw County Board of Supervisors; Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County Board of Supervisors; Linda Laylin, Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors; Michael Shares, Mayor of Dunkerton; and Dewey Hildebrandt, Bremer County Board of Supervisors.

Also present were: Matt Rector, U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley's office; Nick Fratzke, Kyle Durant, Linda Sires, Aldina Dautović, Brenda Ponto, Brian Schoon, Brenda Vavroch, Rose Phillips, Cindy Knox, and Sheri Alldredge, INRCOG.

Motion by Mark Schildroth, seconded by Lisa Smock, to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Larry Young, seconded by Schildroth, to approve the June 15, 2023, minutes.

Brian Schoon presented the November 2023 Financial Statements for INRCOG and RTC. Focusing on INRCOG's Combined Statement of Revenues and Expenses, Schoon noted that expenses are tracking with the budget. While the statement shows a net loss of \$85,692.50, some programs are only billed quarterly; if those programs were invoiced with the two months of expenses incurred, it would add \$102,815.54 and result in a year-to-date net income of \$17,123.04. The RTC Combined Statement of Revenues and Expenses shows a net income of \$131,525.56. Schoon noted that it includes a one-time infusion of \$37,107 in ARPA funding which, if deducted, would still result in a net income for the year-to-date. Schoon further noted that one new vehicle has been ordered and another one will be ordered. Also being considered is the purchase of scheduling software and purchasing a building is being explored, specifically its effect on the budget down the road. Motion by Greg Barnett, seconded by Matt Kuhn, to approve the November 2023 INRCOG and RTC Financial Reports as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Schoon then presented the Director's Report. He discussed grant applications that have been awarded since the last Board meeting in June as well as local contracts that have been approved this fiscal year.

Schoon noted there was nothing to report regarding Human Resources or the INRCOG Building.

Schoon then presented a proposed slate of officers for calendar year 2024, noting that most current officers were willing to continue in their position. Schoon reminded the Board that the officers serve both the Board and the Executive Committee. The Mayors of Waterloo and Cedar Falls are automatic members of the Executive Committee; the change in Mayor in Cedar Falls will include the addition of Daniel Laudick. Greg Barnett with the Butler County Board of Supervisors has agreed to take the place of Mayor Larry Young who is leaving office. Motion by Kuhn, seconded by Young, to approved the proposed slate of officers, as presented and as follows: Duane Hildebrandt, Bremer County Supervisor, Chair; Linda Laylin, Black Hawk County Supervisor, Vice-Chair; Mark Schildroth, Grundy County Supervisor, Secretary; and Matt Kuhn, Chickasaw County Supervisor, Treasurer;

at-large members: Greg Barnett, Butler County Supervisor; Clayton Ohrt, Buchanan County Supervisor; Lisa Smock, Mayor of Elk Run Heights; Quentin Hart, Mayor of Waterloo; and Daniel Laudick, Mayor of Cedar Falls. There being no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Schoon then discussed a proposal to increase FY 2025 membership dues by \$.01 to \$.54/capita effective July 1, 2024. He reminded the Board that membership dues are used as local match for Iowa DOT funding for the Black Hawk County Metropolitan Planning Organization, Iowa Northland Regional Transportation Authority, and the Safe Routes to School Program as well as match for Economic Development Administration grant funding. Also proposed is retaining the \$100 minimum dues--applicable to cities with smaller populations--for FY 2025 but increasing the minimum to \$125 beginning in FY 2026. Schoon noted that the increase would affect seven communities and \$100 minimum has been in place for at least 23 years during which time the per capita cost has increased 12 times. Hildebrant noted that the Executive Committee had previously approved the dues increases but it needs full Board approval. Motion by Young, seconded by Schildroth to approve FY 2025 membership dues of \$.54/capita and the dues minimum of \$125 beginning for FY 2026 (July 1, 2025). Motion carried unanimously.

Schoon explained that the Fiscal Year 2023 Annual Report would be e-mailed to everyone following the meeting and encouraged everyone to read the report which highlights projects worked in during the fiscal year, and to share it with city council members, supervisors, and staff. Schoon also acknowledged INRCOG's 50th anniversary explaining that Councils of Governments were started in 1973 after being codified by Iowa Code. In those 50 years, INRCOG has been in five locations and has seen many staff and Board members.

Schoon recognized the following INRCOG employees for two years of service to the agency: Isaiah Corbin, Director of Development; Aldina Dautović, Transportation Planner; and Tammy Turner, Environmental Resource Specialist.

Schoon then thanked outgoing Board members which include 15 mayors that would be leaving office at the end of the year. He especially thanked George Wessel, Rob Green, and Larry Young who have been active members of the Board. Larry Young was specifically thanked for his many years of service on the Executive Committee.

There being no other business, motion by Young to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Schildroth. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Schoon Acting Secretary